About

Content and Criteria

The Community Knowledge Open Library (CKOL) is a growing online database created by the Quebec English-Speaking Communities Research Network (QUESCREN) at Concordia University. CKOL stores resources from groups and stakeholders working with English-speaking communities in Quebec. These resources can be accessed via a full-text search engine.

The resources are “grey literature.” This is material falling in a grey area between archives and commercially published documents. Grey literature is intended for public distribution, but published informally or non-commercially. Examples found in CKOL include annual reports, research reports, briefs, press releases, PowerPoint presentations, newsletters, infographics, and pamphlets. CKOL does not include either commercially published material (academic journals, books with ISBN numbers, etc.), or archival material (meeting minutes, internal documents or e-mails, manuscript notes, etc.).

Please note that grey literature is typically not subject to the same rigorous checks as formally published material. Here is a web page and checklist to help you evaluate the trustworthiness of the material.

Any views or opinions represented in the publications within this database belong solely to the authors. They do not necessarily represent those of QUESCREN or its funders.

Goals

CKOL is intended for community groups, researchers, policymakers, journalists, and other knowledge users. It aims to:

  • Increase awareness and understanding of English-speaking Quebec by expanding the knowledge base
  • Preserve and disseminate material that is vulnerable to disappearance
  • Support the production of research and evidence-based policy using this material

CKOL Partners: Who They Are and How to Join

QUESCREN has signed distribution agreements with a growing roster of organizations serving Quebec’s English-speaking communities from across the province. These include regional advocacy groups, sectoral umbrella groups, and others. Click here for a list and descriptions of partners.

If you would like to become a CKOL partner and share your resources in this library, please contact QUESCREN or fill out this form.

Use of Material

QUESCREN has obtained licensing agreements from authors when possible, but we recognize that CKOL may contain copyrighted material that has not been specifically authorized by the copyright holders. QUESCREN believes that CKOL content is covered under current fair dealing copyright laws (Copyright Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-42)).

The resources in CKOL are being made available strictly for information, education, and research purposes. Unless the resource specifies otherwise, third-party users are not authorized to use or reproduce the works herein for any commercial purpose or to further distribute, perform, or alter works in any way without express permission of the identified author or owner of the copyright or proxy.

If you feel like there is something on CKOL that should not be for any reason, please contact QUESCREN. We will contact you to discuss the material’s possible removal from this website.

Credits

Creator of CKOL: Quebec English-Speaking Communities Research Network (QUESCREN)

CKOL Management Team

Web Interface Development

Project Consultants

  • Rebecca Miller, Classification system development and cataloguing
  • Aurelia Roman, Copyright consulting
  • Dorothy Williams, Partnership development and content gathering

Thanks also to staff at Concordia University Legal Services, Concordia University Library, and Concordia’s Translation Services.

QUESCREN

Whisky Echo Bravo

Funders

The Secrétariat aux relations avec les québécois d’expression anglaise (SRQEA), Gouvernement du Quebec, funded this project.

Secrétariat aux relations avec les Québécois d’expression anglaise

QUESCREN also receives funding from the Department of Canadian Heritage, the Canadian Institute for Research on Linguistic Minorities, and Concordia University.

Canadian Heritage

Canadian Institute for Research on Linguistic Minorities

Concordia University

À propos

Contenu et critères

La Bibliothèque ouverte du savoir communautaire (BOSC) est une base de données en ligne créée par le Réseau de recherche sur les communautés québécoises d’expression anglaise (QUESCREN) de l’Université Concordia. La BOSC contient des ressources de groupes et d’intervenants qui travaillent auprès des communautés d’expression anglaise au Québec. Les ressources sont accessibles au moyen d’un moteur de recherche plein texte.

Les ressources sélectionnées sont qualifiées de « littérature grise ». Il s’agit d’un contenu qui tombe dans une zone grise entre les archives et les documents publiés commercialement. La littérature grise est destinée à la distribution publique, mais est publiée de manière informelle ou non commerciale. Voici des exemples de ce qu’on peut trouver dans la BOSC : rapports annuels, rapports de recherche, mémoires, communiqués de presse, présentations PowerPoint, bulletins, infographies et documents d’information. La BOSC ne contient ni documents publiés commercialement (revues savantes, livres dotés d’un numéro ISBN, etc.) ni plusieurs documents d'archives (procès-verbaux, documents internes, courriels, notes manuscrites, etc.).

Tous les points de vue ou opinions représentés dans les publications de cette base de données appartiennent uniquement aux auteurs. Ils ne représentent pas nécessairement ceux de QUESCREN ou de ses bailleurs de fonds.

Objectifs

La BOSC est destinée aux groupes communautaires, aux chercheurs, aux décideurs politiques, aux journalistes et à divers utilisateurs. Elle vise à :

  • Améliorer la compréhension du Québec d’expression anglaise en élargissant la base de connaissances sur ces communautés
  • Préserver et disséminer une documentation vulnérable à la disparition
  • Soutenir la recherche et l’élaboration de politiques basées sur des données probantes

Partenaires de la BOSC : Qui ils sont et comment s’y joindre

QUESCREN a signé des ententes de distribution avec une liste croissante d’organisations au service des collectivités d’expression anglaise partout au Québec. Cela inclut des groupes de défense régionaux et des groupes de coordination sectoriels. Cliquez ici pour voir la liste et la description des partenaires de la BOSC.

Si vous voulez devenir un partenaire de la BOSC et partager vos ressources dans cette bibliothèque, veuillez communiquer avec QUESCREN ou completer ce formulaire.

Utilisation de la documentation

QUESCREN a conclu un contrat de licence avec les auteurs lorsque cela était possible, mais nous savons que la BOSC pourrait contenir de la documentation protégée par un droit d’auteur, dont les titulaires n’ont pas autorisé le partage. Nous croyons que le contenu de la BOSC est couvert par l’exception de l’utilisation équitable prévue dans la Loi sur le droit d’auteur actuelle (Loi sur le droit d’auteur [L.R.C. (1985), ch. C-42]).

Les ressources de la BOSC sont disponibles à des fins de recherche et d’éducation seulement. À moins d’information contraire, les tiers ne sont pas autorisés à utiliser ou à reproduire la documentation à des fins commerciales, à la distribuer ou à la modifier sans permission expresse de l’auteur, du titulaire du droit d’auteur ou de leur mandataire.

Si vous croyez qu’une ressource de la BOSC ne devrait pas s’y trouver, pour quelconque raison, veuillez communiquer avec QUESCREN. Nous communiquerons avec vous pour discuter du possible retrait du document sur le site Web.

Crédits

Création de la BOSC : Réseau de recherche sur les communautés québécoises d’expression anglaise (QUESCREN)

Équipe de gestion de la BOSC

  • Lorraine O’Donnell (QUESCREN)
  • Patrick Donovan (QUESCREN)

Conception de l’interface Web

Conseillères du projet

  • Rebecca Miller, conception du système de classification et catalogage
  • Aurelia Roman, conseillère en droit d’auteur
  • Dorothy Williams, développement des partenariats et collecte du contenu

Merci aussi au Service des affaires juridiques de l’Université Concordia, à la Bibliothèque de l’Université Concordia et au service de traduction de Concordia.

QUESCREN

Whisky Echo Bravo

Appuis financiers

Le Secrétariat aux relations avec les Québécois d’expression anglaise (SRQEA) du gouvernement du Québec a financé ce projet.

Secrétariat aux relations avec les Québécois d’expression anglaise

QUESCREN a également reçu du financement du ministère du Patrimoine canadien, de l’Institut canadien de recherche sur les minorités linguistiques et de l’Université Concordia.

Patrimoine Canadien

Institut canadien de recherche sur les minorités linguistiques

Université Concordia